Sunday, May 19, 2024

MotoGP Portugal 2024: Viñales comes out on top at sprint – motor sports News

Must read

Fondly referred to as the Top Gun, Viñales managed a lead of 1.039 seconds over Marquez to grab the top spot.

In a surprising turn of events, Maverick Viñales from Aprilia Racing took the top honours at the sprint race of Portuguese Grand Prix. This marks the first sprint win for the Spaniard. The sprint was etched with twists all along the exhilarating 12 laps. 

After a rather underwhelming performance in the practice and qualifiers, Marc Marquez was back in form bagging the second spot after a brave last-lap overtake at turn five on Jorge Martin, who was unable to showcase his full potential in the sprint.

MotoGP Portugal 2024: Bastianini loses out on pole

The sprint marked a brilliant start as Jack Miller took the lead on the exit of turn one. The Red Bull KTM Factory racer stormed away on the first lap whereas Polesitter Enea Bastianini got swallowed by the front group as the Italian was demoted to P5 following an issue with his rear ride height device.

2024 Dakar Rally results: Hero, Harith Noah take podiums

F1 Max Verstappen Red Bull

Top 10 highest-paid F1 drivers in 2023

MotoGP Americas

MotoGP Americas Grand Prix: When, Where and How to watch?

higest earning f1 team principals

F1 earnings: When being Team Principals pay up

Reigning champion— Francesco Bagnaia— came in fourth, holding off Miller after a magnificent display of defending. Winner from the qualifiers and practise session— Franceso Bagnia recorded the final point in the sprint. Meanwhile, Acosta finished in seventh in his second MotoGP weekend this year—  ahead of Espargaro and Fabio Quartararo from Aprilia and Yamaha.

Red Bull KTM Factory racer— Brand Binder— crashed out again, but thankfully no damage occurred. All focus now shifts to the final race of the Portuguese GP today.

Rank Racer Team Lap timing
1 Maverick Viñales Aprilia Racing 19:49.636
2 Marc Marquez Gresini Racing MotoGP™ +1.039
3 Jorge Martin Prima Pramac Racing +1.122
4 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati Lenovo Team +4.155
5 Jack Miller Red Bull KTM Factory Racing +4.329
6 Enea Bastianini (Ducati Lenovo Team) +4.384
7 Pedro Acosta Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 +5.088
8 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia Racing +6.161
9 Fabio Quartararo Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP™ +7.501
10 Raul Fernandez Trackhouse Racing +8.484

Latest article