Sunday, May 26, 2024

Is Cristiano Ronaldo playing for Portugal today? Latest team news updates on CR7 for Slovenia international match | Sporting News

Must read

Portugal stormed to a 5-2 win over Sweden in their first game of the March international break.

Manager Roberto Martinez selected 32 players for this camp to give himself rotation options amid a busy club schedule for his major stars.

This meant Cristiano Ronaldo was able to rest up as his compatriots made merry, with Rafael Leao, Matheus Nunes, Bruno Fernandes, Bruma and Goncalo Ramos all on target.

The Sporting News takes a look at CR7’s availability for Tuesday’s match in Slovenia.

MORE: Who has qualified for Euro 2024?

Is Cristiano Ronaldo playing for Portugal today?

Ronaldo is expected to return to lead the line at Stozice Stadium, aiming to add to his all-time international record haul of 128 goals from 205 caps.

The 39-year-old returned to training with his international team-mates on Sunday and appeared to be in high spirits.

Slovenia vs Portugal lineups, team news

Slovenia were held to a 2-2 draw against Malta in midweek but they do have the highly rated Benjamin Sesko in attack.

Slovenia predicted XI (4-4-2 right to left): Oblak (GK) — Balkovec, Bijol, Drkusic, Stojanovic — Mlakar, Krtic, Cerin, Horvat — Sesko, Sporar.

Slovenia subs: TBC

Ronaldo‘s return will be one of several changes in light of Roberto Martinez’s decision to release Bernardo SilvaRafael LeaoBruno Fernandes, Goncalo RamosRuben DiasJoao Palhinha, Nelson Semedo and Toti Gomes.

Portugal predicted XI (4-3-3, right to left): Patricio (GK) — Dalot, Pepe, A. Silva, Cancelo — Danilo, R. Neves, Vitinha — Otavio, Ronaldo, Joao Felix.

Portugal subs: TBC

What time does Portugal vs Sweden kick off?

This international friendly match takes place at the Estádio Dom Afonso Henriques in Guimaraes, Portugal and kicks off on Thursday, March 21 at 7:45 p.m. local time.

Here’s how that time translates across some of the major territories:

  Date Kickoff time
USA Thu, Mar. 21 3:45 p.m. ET
Canada Thu, Mar. 21 3:45 p.m. ET
UK Thu, Mar. 21 7:45 p.m. GMT
Australia Fri, Mar. 22 6:45 a.m. AEDT
India Fri, Mar. 22 1:15 a.m. IST

Portugal vs Sweden live stream, TV channel

Here’s how to watch this international friendly match across selected areas of the world’s major regions:

Region TV Streaming
USA Fox Soccer Plus Fubo, ViX
Canada

DAZN

UK Viaplay UK
Australia Optus Sport
India Sony TEN 3 JioTV, SONY LIV

USA: This game is available on Fox Soccer Plus with streaming options on Fubo. New users can currently sign up for a FREE trial.

Canada: This international friendly game streams live on DAZN.

UK: This match is available to stream on Viaplay UK.

Australia: Fans in Australia can stream this match live and on-demand on Optus Sport.

India: JioTV and Sony LIV are the live streaming options for this game.

MORE: Euro 2024 final bracket with all the results and highlights

Latest article